Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Fitzwilliam Quartet

JS Bach Three Contrapuncti from The Art of Fugue
Alan Mills Rococo Variations & Fugue on a theme of CPE Bach (premiere)
Glazunov Novelleten, Op. 15 (excerpts)
Schubert String Quartet in D minor, D.810 Death & the Maiden

The Fitzwilliam Quartet presents a fascinating programme starting with a fugal theme. Three Contrapuncti by JS Bach serve as a prelude to the premiere of a new quartet by Alan Mills: variations on a minuet for keyboard composed by Bach’s eldest son Emanuel Bach in 1766, and ending with a fugue.

This is followed by some of Glazunov’s beautiful Novelleten, beginning with the fugal movement ‘Interludium in modo antico’. The Quartet’s programme culminates in Schubert’s dramatic and epic late quartet ‘Death & the Maiden’, named after his earlier lieder ‘Der Tod und das Mädchen’ from which he freely draws.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 19th March 2017



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.