Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2017-2018 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Raphael Wallfisch with the Orchestra of the Swan: Albion


Elgar Introduction and Allegro, Op. 47
I Holst The Fall of the Leaf for solo cello
Ireland (arr. Matthew Forbes) Cello Sonata in G minor (1923; 2016 arr. for cello & strings)
Rubbra Soliloquy for cello and chamber orchestra, Op. 57
Britten Variations on a theme by Frank Bridge, Op. 10

Orchestra of the Swan
David Curtis conductor
Raphael Wallfisch cello

Raphael Wallfisch returns to Cello Unwrapped, this time with the Orchestra of the Swan for a special concert of British music, taking us from Elgar’s elegant Introduction and Allegro to the young Britten’s freshly inventive Variations on a theme by Frank Bridge. In between we encounter two rarities, Edmund Rubbra’s haunting Soliloquy and Ireland’s sonata, a darkly turbulent work illuminated anew in an arrangement for soloist and strings. Wallfisch will bring all the burnished intensity of his sound to Imogen Holst’s poignant response to a 17th century tune, The Fall of the Leaf.

‘Any more compellingly idiomatic or richly seasoned cello playing than this would be hard to contemplate.’ International Record Review


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 3rd December 2017



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2017.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.