Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Mathilde Milwidsky & Sam Haywood

Venus and the Violin II

JS Bach Sonata for Violin & Keyboard in E, BWV1016
Agnes Zimmermann Violin Sonata No. 3 in G minor, Op. 23
Clara Schumann Three Romances, Op. 22
Johannes Brahms Violin Sonata No. 1 in G, Op. 78

Mathilde Milwidsky violin
Sam Haywood piano

In 1915, in the midst of the Suffragette and Suffragist movement, Agnes Zimmermann’s First Violin Sonata featured in a concert of women composers in the South Place Sunday Concerts, the precursor to the LCMS series. By then, the nearly 70-year-old composer was famous in Victorian England as a fine pianist and composer – Joseph Joachim premiered her work and thought highly of her, and she enjoyed close friendships with many composers and performers of her day, including Clara Schumann, with whom she regularly performed.

This concert, given by the prize-winning duo Mathilde Milwidsky and Sam Haywood, traces and explores some of these rich associations in her work.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 6th October 2019



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.