Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Albion Quartet

The British Quartet – Concert 2: ‘Hymns’

Peter Fribbins String Quartet No. 2 After Cromer
Haydn String Quartet No. 3 in C, Op. 76 Emperor
Suk Meditation on the Old Czech Chorale ‘St. Wenceslas’, Op. 35a
Dvořák String Quartet No. 12 in F, Op. 96 American

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Emma Parker violin
Rosalind Ventris viola
Nathaniel Boyd cello

The second concert of the series by the newly formed Albion Quartet presents the theme of ‘Hymns’. Haydn’s Emperor Quartet is named after the famous hymn ‘Gott erhalte Franz den Kaiser’, and also marks out the letters of the hymn’s title (GEFDC/k) in the first movement’s theme. Peter Fribbins’s Second Quartet (2005) uses the English hymn ‘Cromer’ through all its movements in a similarly motific way. Joseph Suk’s Meditation is based on the old Czech St Wenceslas hymn and Dvořák’s famous ‘American’ quartet contains poignant references to the hymns from the small rural chapels at home, and the Spirituals he heard on his travels in America in the 1890s.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 25th February 2018

FREE Pre-concert foyer performance - Parallax Saxophone Quartet - Sunday 25th February, 5.45pm

Pierre Lantier Andante et Scherzetto
George Gershwin Three Preludes
Samuel Barber arr.van der Linden Adagio for Strings
Timothy Blinko Cartographies

Parallax Saxophone Quartet consists of Bachelor and Master students from the Royal College of Music, who study under Kyle Horch. With each member hailing from a different corner of the world, this quartet has a diverse array of influences and experiences, and are brought together by their love of music-making. Recent quartet appearances include performing for the Kensington and Chelsea Women’s Club at the Lansdowne Club, Mayfair, the Worshipful Company of Farmers, the ABRSM office opening, London Wall, Victoria and Albert Museum and RCM International Women’s Day as well as lunchtime recitals at St Mary Abbots Church, High Street Kensington



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.