Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Carducci Quartet

Moeran – String Quartet No.2 in E-flat (17’)
Mendelssohn – String Quartet in F minor Op. 80 (30’)
Beethoven – String Quartet in E minor Op. 59/2 ‘Razumovsky’

The famous Carducci Quartet – Matthew Denton and Michelle Fleming (violins), Eoin Schmidt-Martin (viola) and Emma Denton (cello) – perform a programme featuring two nineteenth century classics. Mendelssohn’s wildly passionate F minor quartet, composed the year he died in 1847, is paired with Beethoven’s ambitious quartet in E minor – the second of the three commissioned by Count Razumovsky, the Russian ambassador to Vienna at the time. As Beethoven’s quartet features a Russian folk music theme, so Moeran’s second quartet draws upon Irish folk music, and like the Mendelssohn, it was also one of his last works, completed in 1950.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 17th October 2021



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.