Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Allegri Quartet

Haydn String Quartet in F minor, Op. 20 No. 5
Szymanowski String Quartet No. 2, Op. 56
Schubert String Quartet in G, D.887

The celebrated Allegri Quartet presents the second of Szymanowski’s two string quartets: dating from the last creative part of his life, and premiered in Warsaw in 1929, it fuses neo-Classicism precision and rhythmic power, with the folk music of the Tatra Mountains in southern Poland.

They also perform one of Haydn’s Op. 20 quartets, the famous ‘sturm und drang’ F minor quartet from the set, ending with a spectacular fugue. To end their programme, we hear Schubert’s mighty final quartet in G, composed in the summer of 1825, but not published, or fully appreciated, until some 25 years later.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 30th April 2017



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.