Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Ensemble MidtVest (Denmark)

Carl Nielsen 150th birthday Concert

Nielsen Woodwind Quintet, Op. 43
Beethoven Trio in B flat for clarinet, cello and piano, Op. 11 Gassenhauer
Julius Röntigen Trio for flute, oboe and bassoon in G, Op. 86 (excerpts)
Smetana Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 15



To mark the 150th anniversary of the birth of Danish composer Carl Nielsen, we welcome one of Denmark’s most eminent chamber groups, Ensemble MidtVest. As well as Nielsen’s wind quintet, the ensemble performs some wonderful music by Julius Röntgen – perhaps a new name for some: born in Leipzig in 1855, his late nineteenth-century voice is full of the warmth and lyricism of Brahms and his German contemporaries. Ensemble MidtVest complete their programme with Beethoven’s ever-popular ‘Gassenhauer’ trio, and the passionate piano trio by Czech romantic master Bedřich Smetana.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 8th March 2015



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.