Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chilingirian Quartet

On an Overgrown Path

Nature Unwrapped

Haydn String Quartet in D, Op. 50 No. 6 Frog
Janáček (arr. Burghauser) On an Overgrown Path
Puccini Crisantemi
Haydn String Quartet in B flat, Op. 76 No. 4 Sunrise

The Chilingirian Quartet offers a celebration of the Nature theme through the string quartet medium.

Janáček’s haunting miniatures present a range of intimate thoughts and feelings through nature imagery, and Puccini’s beautiful Elegy, named after the famous funeral flower, was written in a single night in 1890 as a response to the death of his friend Amedeo, the Duke of Savoy.

These intimate pieces are framed by more ebullient ones from Haydn, a veritable poet of rural life: a quartet nicknamed the Frog for its comic bariolage effects and his popular, expansive Sunrise quartet from the Op. 76 set.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 3rd May 2020



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2020.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.