Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chilingirian Quartet: Mozart–Bartók–Beethoven


Mozart String Quartet No. 17 in B flat, K.458
Beethoven String Quartet in C minor, Op. 18 No. 4
Bartók String Quartet No. 5 (1934)


Levon Chilingirian violin
Stephen Orton cello
Ronald Birks violin
Susie Mészáros viola

The final concert in an historic series of six concerts given by the Chilingirian Quartet, commemorates the 70th anniversary of Bartók’s death by reconstructing the first complete cycle of Bartók quartets in the UK – given in the 1949/50 season by the London Chamber Music Society’s precursor organisation, the South Place Sunday Concerts.

The concerts (originally performed by the Hurwitz, Aeolian, Blech, Amadeus and Martin quartets), coupled one of Bartók’s six quartets with a quartet from another groundbreaking series, Beethoven’s six quartets of the Op. 18 set. Each programme also featured one of Mozart’s mature quartets, to complement the energy and tautness of Bartók and Beethoven’s musical style.

The Aeolian Quartet originally gave this concert on April 30 1950.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 2nd April 2017

FREE: Pre-concert talk: 5.15pm, St Pancras Room - Sunday 2nd April, 5.15pm

Professor Amanda Bayley, distinguished Bartók scholar and author of the Cambridge Companion to Bartók discusses his fifth string quartet.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.