Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chilingirian Quartet with Philip de Groote (cello)

Haydn String Quartet in B flat, Op. 55 No. 3
Beethoven String Quartet in F minor, Op. 95 Serioso
Schubert String Quintet in C, D.956

Levon Chilingirian violin
Ronald Birks violin
Susie Mészáros viola
Stephen Orton cello
with Philip de Groote cello

A purely Viennese programme from the wonderful Chilingirian Quartet. They start with Haydn’s B flat Quartet from the Op. 55 set, dedicated to the violinist Johann Tost. Beethoven’s Op. 95 from his middle period is highly dramatic in contrast as the minor key casts shadows, especially on the restless third movement which gained the work its nickname Serioso. The second half sees a delightful reunion of the Chilingirians with their recently retired founding member, eminent cellist Philip de Groote. They join forces for the rendition of a Schubertian masterpiece, the timeless C major Quintet, which last year received the honour of being the No. 1 ‘Chamber Classic’ as voted by you. Here’s your chance to enjoy it again.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 19th April 2015



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.