Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Philharmonia Orchestra Chamber Players with Andrew Brownell (piano)

Poulenc – Trio for oboe, bassoon & piano (14’)
Louise Farrenc – Sextet for Piano and Winds, Op.40 (25’)
Mozart – Adagio & Rondeau in C for glass harmonica and quintet K.617 (arr. piano and winds) (13’)
Rimsky-Korsakov – Quintet for Piano & Winds in B-flat Op.11 (30’)

Samuel Coles (flute), Tom Blomfield (oboe), Mark van de Wiel (clarinet), Emily Hultmark, (bassoon), Diego Incertis Sánchez, (horn), Andrew Brownell (piano)

Principals and co-principals from the famous Philharmonia Orchestra are joined by American pianist Andrew Brownell in a wonderful collection of music for wind and piano. Poulenc’s tuneful and spirited trio from the 1920s is followed by the sextet by another remarkable French composer, Louise Farrenc (1804-75), also a renowned 19th-century performer and Professor of Piano at the Paris Conservatoire for 30 years. Complemented by Mozart’s beautiful Adagio & Rondeau in C, originally for the highly unusual combination of glass harmonica and quintet, their concert ends with the colourful and exuberant quintet by Rimsky-Korsakov, composed for a competition in Russia in 1876.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 23rd January 2022



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.