Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




English Symphony Orchestra with Emma Johnson & Kenneth Woods

Haydn Symphony No. 44 in E minor, Hob.I/44 Trauer
James Francis Brown Lost Lanes, Shadow Groves for clarinet & strings
Mozart Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K550

Emma Johnson clarinet
Kenneth Woods conductor

The Worcester-based ESO, founded by William Boughton in 1978, performs Haydn’s ‘Trauer’ (‘Mourning’) Symphony – so named because its slow movement was played at his funeral in 1809 – and Mozart’s great G Minor Symphony, one of only two he wrote in the minor key. In between, the ESO is joined by clarinettist Emma Johnson MBE for James Francis Brown’s beautiful Clarinet Concerto Lost Lanes, Shadow Groves, composed in 2008 and becoming already something of an English classic.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 11th December 2016



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.