Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Firebird Orchestra

The First Cuckoo

Nature Unwrapped

Delius On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring & Summer Night on the River
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
MozartQueen of the Night’ arias from The Magic Flute, K620
Haydn Symphony No. 83 in G minor The Hen

The Firebird Orchestra
George Jackson conductor
Emmanuel Bach violin
Samantha Hay soprano

Inspired by their name, the Firebird Orchestra explores some of Nature’s ornithological themes in music. Delius’ beautiful evocation of the first cuckoo calling in Spring and a Summer Night on the River are coupled with arias from the Mozart famous Magic Flute, an opera enlivened with birdsong and sonic references to the natural world.

The larger works in the concert include Mendelssohn’s famous Violin Concerto, with Emmanuel Bach as soloist, and Haydn’s ever-popular Hen Symphony, named for the first movement’s unusual musical theme.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 22nd March 2020



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.