Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Jamie Walton (cello) & Clare Hammond (piano)

Please note that due to Hall availability, this week’s LCMS concert will take place on Saturday at 7.30pm, not Sunday at 6.30pm.

Beethoven Sonata for cello and piano in D, Op. 102 No. 2
Britten Sonata for cello and piano in C, Op. 65
Alan Mills & Peter Fribbins Aquarelles for piano: Reflections on Debussy
Debussy Sonata for cello and piano
Fauré Sonata for cello and piano No. 1 in D, Op. 109

Jamie Walton and Clare Hammond offer a wide-ranging programme, beginning and ending with two famous cello sonatas which in many ways mark the beginning and end of Romanticism in music: the last of Beethoven’s five sonatas from c.1815, and the sonata by Fauré, composed at the end of his career in 1917, and reworking material from his 1884 sketches to a symphony which would never be. In between come twentieth century sonatas by Britten and Debussy: the latter preludised by two short piano pieces, ‘Aquarelles’, written in 2012 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Debussy’s birth.


Clock7.30pm Saturday, 17th January 2015



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.