Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




La Mer Trio

Bax Elegiac Trio for flute, viola & harp (1916)
Telemann Trio Sonata in G minor, TWV 42:g9
Takemitsu And then I knew’t was wind for flute, viola & harp (1992)
Ravel (arr. Skaila Kanga) Sonatine for flute, viola and harp
Thomas Oehler Triptique de la lande (commissioned by the La Mer Trio)
Leclair Trio Sonata
Debussy Sonata for flute, viola & harp, L137

Renate Sokolovska flute
Hannah Stone harp*
Maja Wegrzynowska viola
* Royal Harpist to HRH Prince of Wales

Formed in 2010 by three award-winning London-based musicians, La Mer Trio offer a wide ranging programme for this most beautiful of instrumental ensemble combinations. The well-known Bax and Debussy sonatas begin and end the concert: in their midst come a wide selection of pieces, ranging from the baroque Telemann and Leclair to Ravel, Takemitsu and a work written especially for the trio by Thomas Oehler.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 6th April 2014

Pre-concert Foyer performance: Halcyon Quartet - Sunday 6th April, 5.45pm

Henry Purcell  Fantasia no. 6
Henry Purcell 
Fantasia no. 7
Ernest John Moeran 
Quartet No. 1 in A Minor

Claudia Fuller violin
Leidy Sinclair violin
Ariane Van-Hoof viola
Hee-Yeon Cho cello

Formed in September 2012 by four musicians currently studying at the Royal Academy of Music, the Halcyon Quartet has quickly established itself as a passionate, engaging and dedicated ensemble.
As well as being granted a place on the Academy’s prestigious Davey Poznanski Quartet Scheme, the group have also been awarded a number of performance opportunities and masterclasses with high-profiled musicians and ensembles. Recently they have worked with Sylvia Rosenberg, Thomas Brandis, the Escher Quartet, the RTE Vanbrugh Quartet, the Wihan Quartet, Garfield Jackson, Richard Ireland, and in October 2013 worked alongside composer Stephen Montague to perform his work After St Ives.
They will prelude tonight’s LCMS concert with two works; the first of Haydn’s Prussian Quartets, and Quartet No. 1 in A Minor by EJ Moeran, a contemporary of Bax and another British composer influenced by Irish literature and landscape.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.