Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Martinu Quartet (Czech Republic) with Olga Vinokur (piano)

Janacek String Quartet No. 1 The Kreutzer Sonata
Shostakovich Piano Quintet
Schumann Piano Quintet in E flat

Lubomír Havlák violin
Libor Kaňka violin
Zbyněk Padourek viola
Jitka Vlašánková cello
with Olga Vinokur piano

The celebrated Czech quartet perform Janacek’s highly personal and expressive first quartet composed in 1923 and inspired by Tolstoy’s controversial Novella The Kreutzer Sonata’. They are joined by the American-Russian pianist Olga Vinokur in the quintet by Shostakovich – composed in the midst of the Second World War – and Schumann’s ever-popular quintet from 1842, a piano chamber work famously not premiered by his wife Clara, because she was unwell, but by his friend Mendelssohn, who stepped in at the last moment.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 15th March 2015

Pre-Concert Event: The Vasara Quartet - Sunday 15th March, 5.45pm

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 3 in F Major, Op. 73

Emma Oldfield violin
Jessica Coleman violin
Emma Purslow viola
Jobine Siekman cello

Formed in September 2012, the Vasara Quartet is made up of students in their second and third year of undergraduate study at the Royal College of Music in London. In March 2013, the Vasara Quartet was selected to perform in the Wigmore Hall and shortly after they received joint first prize in the Britten Intercollegiate String Quartet Competition. Other highlights include performing for HRH The Prince of Wales as part of the President’s Visit at the Royal College of Music and giving recitals at the Royal Albert Hall, Kings Place, Draper’s Hall, Conway Hall, St Martin-in-the-Fields and Cadogan Hall. Most recently, the quartet performed at the residence of the British Ambassador in Paris. They receive regular tuition from Mark Messenger along with other tutors at the Royal College of Music. They have attended the National Youth String Quartet Weekend three years running where they had intensive coaching from professors including Nicholas Jones, Pavel Fischer, Thomas Riebl and Christoph Richter.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.