Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Northern Chords Festival Ensemble

Fauré Sonata No.1 for Violin & Piano Op.13
Mozart Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor K.478
Brahms Piano Quartet in C minor Op.60

Ben Baker (violin)

Timothy Ridout (viola)

Jonathan Bloxham (cello)

Daniel Lebhardt (piano)

The wonderful performers of the Northern Chords Festival – all well-known musicians in their solo careers – in a programme featuring two great piano quartets, Mozart’s dramatic quartet in G minor and Brahms’s passionate and autobiographical C minor quartet. The concert begins with the hauntingly expressive first violin sonata by Gabriel Fauré composed in the 1870s.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 2nd February 2020

FREE - PreConcert Event! Amare Duo - Sunday 2nd February, 5.45pm

Arthur Honegger  Sonatina for Violin and Cello, H. 80 (1932)
Henri Duparc/ Victor Wilder (after Goethe), arr. Duo Amare: ‘Romance de Mignon’
Duo Amare  Improvisation on Brahms’ Albumblatt für Clara Schumann
Bohuslav Martinů Duo No. 1 for Violin and Cello, H. 157

Esther Kim   violin
Sarah Gait   cello


Amare Duo was formed by two London-based string players: violinist Esther Kim and cellist Sarah Gait. Since its formation in 2018, the duo has performed at venues such as St Mary-le-Bow, while the musicians have individually appeared as chamber musicians at venues including Cadogan Hall, Wigmore Hall, St Dunstan in the West, Kings Place and the Southbank Centre, and won prizes for chamber music from both the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal Northern College of Music. Cellist Sarah Gait, from Cumbria, is a recipient of awards from the Royal Philharmonic Society, Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Foundation and EMI Music Sound Foundation, as well as Winner of the BBC Proms Young Composers’ Competition and NCEM/BBC R3 Composers’ Award. Recently awarded a Masters Degree from the Royal Academy of Music, Sarah has been invited to perform at upcoming festivals including at the Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin and Cello Akademie Rutesheim, where she will perform her own concerto with the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester. Sarah has performed as a soloist on BBC Radio 3’s ‘Live in Concert’, featured in publications including Classical Music Magazine and appeared as a chamber musician and composer on BBC Radio 3 and Italian RAI Radio 3. A keen promoter of classical music with young people, Sarah appears as Ambassador for the BBC Proms Inspire Scheme. She is Director of UK group Platform Music, alongside violinist Luke Hsu, and recently appointed Co-Director of the London-based Olyver New Music Collective. In June, Sarah was announced Winner of a Cumbria Life Culture Award in recognition of her work. Korean born Scottish violinist, Esther Kim is a Soireé d’Or Scholar at the Royal College of Music. She has performed in many venues in London including the Wigmore Hall, King’s Place, The Guildhall, Lambeth Palace, St. Dunstan in the West, St. Mary le Bow, St. Botolph without Aldgate, St. James’ Church Sussex Garden, St. Peter’s Church Notting Hill and few others in England such as All Saints Kingston Church and St Mary le Tower, Ipswich. Her concerto performances include Mendelssohn Concert with the Brighton Youth Orchestra, Mozart Violin Concerto no.5 with the Crossroads Chamber Orchestra, Zigeunerweisen with Culver City Symphony Orchestra, Dvořák Violin Concerto with Palisades Symphony Orchestra. She also enjoys a busy orchestral career. She is currently on trial with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and freelance with London Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Royal Birmingham Ballet and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. During her studies she received the Donald Weekes Memorial Prize for graduating with the highest mark for her final recital (BMus), in the same year the Dorothy Croft Trust, Waddell Prize and the Diploma RAM (MA) for an outstanding postgraduate final recital.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2021.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.