Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Northern Chords Festival Orchestra, with Ben Johnson (tenor) and Jonathan Bloxham (conductor)

Purcell/Britten – Chacony in G minor
Elgar – Serenade
Mendelssohn – String Symphony No. 7
Coleridge-Taylor – ‘Andante con moto’ from Four Novelletten
Finzi – Dies Natalis

The strings of the Northern Chords Festival Orchestra present a concert of music that is either British or has strong British links. They begin with Purcell’s ‘Chacony’, in Britten’s famous arrangement, Elgar’s beautiful Serenade, and the Andante from Coleridge-Taylor’s Novelletten. Mendelssohn was a frequent visitor to Britain, it became a second home – his String Symphony No.7 is an early work from the 1820s. To end, the ensemble is joined by tenor Ben Johnson in Finzi’s masterful cantata Dies Natalis, to words by seventeenth-century English poet Thomas Traherne.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 20th March 2022



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.