Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Raphael Wallfisch & John York - LCMS at Royal Over-Seas League, Piccadilly

Brahms – Sonata for Cello & Piano in F minor Op.120 No.1 (arr. from Clarinet Sonata by Wallfisch & York)
Martinů – Sonata for Cello & Piano No.1
Schumann – Drei Romanzen Op.94
Rebecca Clarke – Rhapsody for Cello & Piano

In the second of our collaborations with the Royal Over-Seas League, the famous cello-piano duo of Raphael Wallfisch & John York present a fascinating concert pairing striking 19th-century and early 20th-century works. Their own arrangement of Brahms’s F minor Clarinet Sonata is balanced with Schumann beautiful ‘Romances’ from the late 1840s. The first of Martinů’s cello sonatas, composed in 1939, is paired with Rebecca Clarke’s passionate ‘Rhapsody’ from 1923 – commissioned by Sprague Coolidge, its manuscript languished in the USA Library of Congress for many years until being rediscovered in the 1980s.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 17th February 2019



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.