Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Rautio Piano Trio with Robin Ashwell

Beethoven Piano Trio in D, Op. 70 No. 1 Ghost
Hiller Piano Trio No. 6 in C minor, Op. 186
Brahms Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Jane Gordon violin
Victoria Simonsen cello
Jan Rautio piano
with Robin Ashwell viola

The Rautio Piano Trio’s concert of 19th-century German masterworks begins with Beethoven’s famous Ghost
Trio and closes with Brahms’s G minor Piano Quartet and its exuberant Hungarian-inspired Finale. In between comes a work by Ferdinand Hiller, a pupil of Hummel and a prolific composer who knew many of the famous German musicians of his age.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 12th May 2019

FREE PreConcert Event: Salomé Quartet - Sunday 12th May, 5.45pm

Haydn – ‘The Bird’ String Quartet in C, Op. 33 No.3
i.Allegro moderato ii.Scherzo Allegretto iii.Adagio ma not troppo
iv Finale: Rondo – Presto
Piazzolla – Four for Tango

The Salomé Quartet was formed in 2016 by four prizewinning students of the Royal College of Music in London: Haim Choi (South Korea), Ines Delgado (Portugal), Kasia Ziminska (Poland) and Shizuku Tatsuno (Japan). The musicians have performed worldwide in venues including Muzikverein (Vienna), Mozarteum (Salzburg), Unesco Hall (Paris), Lutoslawski Concert Studio (Warsaw, as well as Wigmore Hall, Kings Place, Barbican Centre, Southbank Centre, Royal Albert Hall and Cadogan Hall in London.

The quartet are RCM String Quartet Competition winners, Helen Just & Susan Cornell Prize and the Sacconi Quartet Prize receipients, and have held Artistic Residency at the Oundle School, and currently Leighton House Museum. They received coaching from Sacconi, Fitzwilliam, and Harlem Quartets, amongst others.


The Haydn Quartet fits in with the German theme of the Rautio Trio’s programme,  and the fiery piece by Piazzolla corresponds with the Finale from the Brahms Piano Quartet.





The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2020.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.