Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Rosamunde Trio

Brahms Piano Trio in A, Op. posth.
Fribbins Softly in the Dusk
Dvořák Piano Trio in E minor Op.90 Dumky

Martino Tirimo piano
Ben Sayevich violin
Daniel Veis cello

The celebrated Rosamunde Trio in a fascinating programme, opening with the Brahms A major piano trio: published posthumously, but almost certainly an early work dating from the 1850s. The evocative DH Lawrence-inspired Softly in the Dusk by Peter Fribbins follows, and the concert ends with Dvořák’s much-loved Dumky Piano Trio, named after a Ukranian lament, a dumka.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 30th March 2014

Pre-concert Foyer performance: The Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta - Sunday 30th March, 5.40pm

 Mozart Flute Concerto in D, K314 (String Ensemble version)

Performed by selected string players from the Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta with the flautist, Zach Tarpagos. Zach Tarpagos is a professional flautist from Keys of Change, the charity supporting the Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta.

The Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta is a dynamic group of young Japanese musicians, who have come together in the wake of the 2011 disaster to express their courage and hope through musical performances. Formed from teenagers studying at four junior high schools in Fukushima City, the orchestra has already given several concerts in Japan. This spring marks the Sinfonietta’s debut in London, with performances at Kings Place and the Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall.

The UK visit is the idea of British concert pianist Panos Karan, who has worked with the orchestra on his five recent visits to Fukushima, and Keys of Change, a musical charity he has set up. During their stay here, the young people will also be working and performing with London-base Orpheus Sinfonia, a group of exceptionally talented young musicians emerging from study into the profession.

The programme, although not directly related to the LCMS main concert, it is in accordance with the spirit of LCMS in general by bringing music to a wider audience with players from all kinds of backgrounds, and in this case, the Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta will bring the sense of the regeneration and courage of  the post-tsunami Japan to the LCMS audience (and beyond).


More information:



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.