Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Philippe Graffin (violin), Capucine Prin (oboe), Roger Chase (viola), Lidy Blijdorp (cello)

Beethoven – String Trio in G Op.9 No.1
Fribbins – ‘La Mirande’ for oboe and strings (UK premiere)
Mozart – Oboe Quartet in F K.370
Debussy – Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (arr. Zuidam)
Britten – Phantasy Quartet for oboe and strings

The famous French violinist Philippe Graffin is joined by friends Capucine Prin (oboe), Roger Chase (viola) and Lidy Blijdorp (cello), in a programme that features three oboe quartets. Mozart’s beautifully lyrical quartet is contrasted with Britten’s characterful but terser and more concentrated ‘Phantasy’ quartet. The new oboe quartet by Peter Fribbins is different again, inspired by the amazing music of French medieval composer Matheus de Sancto Johanne, who served the Avignon Pope in the late 1300s. Between these works comes Beethoven’s impressive G major String Trio, full of drive and energy, and an imaginative new arrangement for duo of Debussy’s famous Prélude by Robert Zuidam.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 15th May 2022



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.