Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




2015–2016 SEASON OPENING CONCERT: Wihan Quartet


Mozart String Quartet in G, K.387
Schubert String Quartet in A minor Rosamunde
Beethoven String Quartet in A minor Op. 132

Leoš Čepický violin
Jan Schulmeister violin
Jakub Čepický viola
Aleš Kaspřík cello


The famous Czech Wihan Quartet celebrates its 30th anniversary and opens the LCMS 2015/16 series in a concert of great Viennese classics.

Mozart’s K.387 quartet, sometimes called the ‘Spring’, was composed in Vienna in 1782. Schubert’s beautiful ‘Rosamunde’ quartet was written in Vienna 40 years later, and premiered by the Schuppanzigh Quartet in 1824. At the end of the following year, in November 1825, the Schuppanzigh Quartet was to premiere Beethoven’s late great masterpiece, his A minor Op.132 quartet.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 4th October 2015

Kruger Quartet - FREE! - Sunday 4th October, 5.45pm

Mozart String Quartet No.23 in D K575

Helen Kruger violin
Claudia Norz violin
Nichola Blakey viola
Carina Drury celloThe Kruger Quartet is a newly formed string quartet based in London, whose members share the same curiosity to explore classical music on instruments from the 18th Century. Their aim is to make the string quartet repertoire accessible for everyone, from the avid concert goer, to children and to someone who has not yet even been to a classical concert. They will perform Mozart’s string quartet in F major K. 590 which was written in July 1790, just a year before Mozart’s death, eight years after he wrote his quartet in G major K.387 which can be heard in tonight’s 6.30pm concert.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.