Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Winds of the Philharmonia with Andrew Brownell (piano)

Mozar Quintet for piano and winds in E flat, K452 (1784)
Poulenc Sextuor for piano and winds, Op. 100 (1939)
Ludwig Thuille Sextet for piano and winds in B flat, Op. 6 (1888)

Samuel Coles flute
Gordon Hunt oboe
Mark van de Wiel clarinet
Katy Woolley horn
Ursula Leveaux bassoonwith
Andrew Brownell piano
Pianist Andrew Brownell is joined by some of the finest wind players in London; a wind quintet drawn from the Philharmonia Orchestra. They perform Mozart’s famous Quintet in E flat, for four wind players and keyboard, and Poulenc’s colourful and ever-popular sextet for piano and winds. Their concert ends with the wonderful sextet by the late 19th-century composer Ludwig Wilhelm Andreas Maria Thuille, one of the ‘Munich School’ and teacher of Richard Strauss. His music is undergoing something of a revival at the moment – this beautiful work proves why!


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 30th October 2016



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.