Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chilingirian Quartet

Mozart–Bartók–Beethoven – Concert III

Mozart String Quartet No. 19 in C, K465
Bartók String Quartet No. 3 (1927)
Beethoven String Quartet in F, Op. 18 No. 1

Levon Chilingirian violin
Stephen Orton cello
Ronald Birks violin
Susie Mészáros viola

The third concert in an historic series of six concerts to be given by the Chilingirian Quartet, commemorates the 70th anniversary of Bartók’s death by reconstructing the first complete cycle of Bartók quartets in the UK – given in the 1949/50 season by the London Chamber Music Society’s precursor organisation, the South Place Sunday Concerts.
The concerts (originally performed by the Hurwitz, Aeolian, Blech, Amadeus and Martin quartets), coupled one of Bartók’s six quartets with a quartet from another groundbreaking series, Beethoven’s six quartets of the Op. 18 set. Each programme also featured one of Mozart’s mature quartets, to complement the energy and tautness of Bartók and Beethoven’s musical style. The Blech Quartet originally gave this concert in January 1950.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 24th April 2016

FREE // Pre-concert talk: Professor Malcolm Gillies on Bartok’s Third Quartet - Sunday 24th April, 5.15pm

Professor Malcolm Gillies, distinguished Bartók scholar, discusses Bartók’s third string quartet.

FREE // Pre-concert Foyer performance: Rusne Mikiskaite (saxophone) & Luiz Mantovani (guitar) - Sunday 24th April, 5:45pm

Ibert Entr’acte
Villa-Lobos Aria from Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
Bartók Romanian Folk Dances
Hovhaness Suite for alto saxophone and guitar
Piazzolla Cafe 1930 and Nightclub 1960 from Histoire du Tango



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.