Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Albion Quartet

Concert 3: ‘Loss and Defiance’

Beethoven String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 Quartetto serioso
Britten String Quartet No. 2 in C, Op. 36
Dvořák String Quartet No. 8 in E, Op. 80

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Emma Parker violin
Rosalind Ventris viola
Nathaniel Boyd cello

The third of the Albion Quartet’s cycle reflects on the themes of loss and defiance. Beethoven’s F minor Quartet was composed in late 1810 during the Napoleonic War and Britten’s Second Quartet was composed in 1945 amid feelings of loss, relief and euphoria at the end of the Second World War. Dvořák’s Eighth Quartet is tinged with sadness and nostalgia, but also with defiance and strength.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 21st October 2018



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.