Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Allegri Quartet with Martin Outram (viola)

Mozart – String Quintet in Eb K.614
Haydn – String Quartet in D minor, Op. 103 (completed Drabkin) First performance
Brahms – String Quintet No.2 in G Op. 111

 Allegri Quartet with Martin Outram (viola)

Ofer Falk – Violin
Rafael Todes – Violin
Dorothea Vogel – Viola
Vanessa Lucas-Smith – Cello
Martin Outram – Viola

The celebrated Allegri Quartet performs the last string chamber works by three Viennese masters, Mozart, Brahms and Haydn. In 1803, Joseph Haydn, aged 71, had completed only the middle movements of his final quartet: he allowed these to be published as a fragmentary work in 1806, adding the following note: ‘Gone is all my strength, old and weak am I.’

William Drabkin has completed a first movement for Op. 103 based on Haydn’s sketches, and has composed a finale that is sensitive to Haydn’s style and to developments in string quartet composition in the early 19th century. The completion receives its first performance tonight.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 8th December 2013

LCMS Foyer Concert: Aureus Quartet - Sunday 8th December, 5.45pm

Harriet Lawton, violin
Ben Paulden, violin
Helena Sánchez, viola
Fraser Bowles, cello

The Aureus Quartet, based in London, was formed in 2012 by four students in their first year of undergraduate degree at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance who share the same passion for chamber music. They receive regular coaching from Ofer Falk (Allegri Quartet).
During their first year together, the quartet has performed in a number of concerts, competitions and events. In May 2013 they were invited to play at a reception in the Cutty Sark, Greenwich for HRH the Duke of Edinburgh. The quartet were also fortunate to be given the opportunity to perform Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 4 at the prestigious Wigmore Hall in a Trinity Laban chamber music concert. Other previous engagements include the John Barbirolli String Quartet competition where they were highly praised by Paul Cassidy (Brodsky Quartet) for their performance of Beethoven’s String Quartet in C minor, Op.18, No. 4  and also in a ChamberStudio coaching day at Trinity Laban where they received coaching from Michael Bochmann, Richard Ireland and David Kenedy.
The Aureus Quartet also frequently performs at private events and functions and are also available for recordings.

Like the Allegri Quartet, the Aureus Quartet will be presenting one of Haydn’s later quartets as part of their programme.

Pre-concert Talk - Sunday 8th December, 5.20pm

Professor William Drabkin teaches at the University of Southampton. His main teaching interests are in the history and analysis of the music of the Classical and Romantic periods. He has taught courses on Beethoven, Wagner, the piano concerto, Mozart’s operas, chamber music, and the symphonic tradition from Beethoven to Mahler. Currently he tutors postgraduate students in Schenkerian analysis, and teaches harmony, counterpoint and tonal composition at all undergraduate levels.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.