Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Allegri String Quartet with Maria Meerovitch (piano)

Haydn String Quartet in B flat, Op. 9 No. 5 Hob. III / 23
Busoni String Quartet, No. 2 in D minor, Op. 26 (1887)
Schumann Romance in F sharp, Op. 28 No. 2
Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 3

Martyn Jackson violin
Rafael Todes violin
Dorothea Vogel viola
Vanessa Lucas Smith cello
Maria Meerovitch piano

2016 marks the 150th anniversary of the birth of the Ferruccio Busoni (1866–1924), one of the most important composers from the turn of the twentieth century. His early second quartet, dating from 1887, already shows great mastery of form, musical expression and contrapuntal argument. The well-known Russian soloist Maria Meerovitch joins the Allegri Quartet in Brahms’s powerful piano quintet, and their concert begins with a beautiful Haydn quartet, published in 1769, and full of the grace and charm of the Enlightenment.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 10th January 2016



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.