Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2021-2022 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chamber Ensemble of London - directed by Peter Fisher (violin) with Margaret Fingerhut (piano)

John Christopher Smith – Overture to ‘The Fairies’
Delius – Légende in E flat for Violin & Strings (arr. Jenkins)
Clive Jenkins – Concertino for Piano & Strings
Vaughan Williams – Concerto Grosso for Strings
Finzi – Eclogue for Piano & Strings, Op.10
Britten – Simple Symphony, Op.4

This concert of popular British music for strings opens with an exuberant overture by Handel’s great friend John Christopher Smith (1712-1795). Music by Delius and Vaughan Williams is paired with Clive Jenkins’s entertaining Concertino, with piano soloist Margaret Fingerhut, who also plays in Finzi’s hauntingly elegiac ‘Eclogue’. The concert finishes with Britten’s ever-popular ‘Simple Symphony’ from the 1930s , four highly colourful movements reworked from music he had written as a teenager.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 1st May 2022



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2022.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.