Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chiaroscuro Quartet

Joseph Haydn String Quartet in E flat, Op. 33 No. 2
Fanny Mendelssohn String Quartet in E flat
Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet No. 13 in B flat, Op. 130 (with alternative finale)

Alina Ibragimova violin
Pablo Hernán Benedí violin
Emilie Hörnlund viola
Claire Thirion cello

‘I cannot help considering it a sign of talent that I do not give it up, though I can get nobody to take an interest in my efforts’. Fanny Mendelssohn

In her 1834 quartet, the young Fanny Mendelssohn announced her composing talent to posterity: here was her response to Beethoven and to her pole star, JS Bach. Its turbulence, originality and dark beauty distinguish it starkly from her brother’s quartets of the time, and yet, in her lifetime, it would never receive a public performance. The celebrated Chiaroscuro Quartet frames it with Haydn’s sublime Op. 33 No. 2 and Beethoven’s extraordinarily rich, six-movement Quartet Op. 130, ending with the amiable alternative finale.

‘There is in the Chiaroscuro’s interpretations an energy…that turns out to be galvanizing.’  Publico Portugal


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 3rd November 2019



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2020.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.