Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Chilingirian Quartet with Timothy Orpen - LCMS at Royal Over-Seas League, Piccadilly

Sally Beamish String Quartet No.2 ‘Opus California’ (1999)
Beethoven String Quartet in F Op.135
Brahms Quintet for Clarinet & Strings in B minor Op.115

Levon Chilingirian violin
Ronald Birks violin
Susie Mészáros viola
Stephen Orton cello
Timothy Orpen clarinet

This newly formed partnership sees ROSL ARTS join with the London Chamber Music Society (LCMS) for a series of exciting chamber concerts. In this inaugural concert, the celebrated Chilingirian Quartet is joined by previous ROSL Annual Music Competition prize winner Timothy Orpen in the beautiful Clarinet Quintet by Brahms. Opening the concert is Sally Beamish’s ‘Opus California’ quartet, based on extracts from the first movement exposition of Beethoven’s String Quartet in C minor, Op.18 No.4 – its title related to a visit the composer made to a Festival in California in 1999 and leading nicely to Beethoven’s Op.135 quartet in F major with its famous “Muß es sein?” questioning theme.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 25th November 2018



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.