Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Firebird Orchestra with George Jackson (conductor) & He Wu (soprano)

Haydn Symphony No. 94 in G, Hob.I:94 Surprise
Strauss Oboe Concerto, TrV 292
Mozart Opera arias (selection)
Schubert Symphony No. 3 in D, D.200

London Firebird Orchestra
George Jackson conductor
Olivier Stankiewicz oboe
He Wu soprano

The Firebird Orchestra returns to the LCMS series with a concert of chamber orchestra classics.

Haydn’s famous ‘Surprise’ Symphony – premiered in London in the 1790s and popular ever since – is followed by Richard Strauss’s Oboe Concerto, composed in 1945 as a homage to eighteenth century classicism, with solo oboe Olivier Stankiewicz, principal oboist of the London Symphony Orchestra. The classical theme continues with two beautiful Mozart arias, performed by famous Chinese soprano He Wu, and the programme ends with Schubert’s sublime Third Symphony.

‘A fantastically energetic orchestra of talented young players.’ Dame Judi Dench, Patron
‘This fiery creation certainly has lift-off!’ Classical Music Magazine
‘George Jackson raised the stature of the music to a rarely-encountered level, absolutely enthralling from first bar to last.’ Classical Source


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 25th March 2018

FREE! Pre-Concert Event: Alkyona Quartet - Sunday 25th March, 5.45pm

Beethoven – String quartet in D major, Op.18 no. 3

Emma Purslow (violin)
Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux (violin)
Henrietta Hill (viola)
Jobine Siekman (cello)

The Alkyona Quartet was formed in January 2018, and is a collaboration between Fellows, graduates and current students of the RCM and Guildhall. In the short time they have been together, they have performed at the invitation of Billericay Arts Association and Music Talks Kensington, and are working on an innovative collaboration with ballet choreographer  Richard Bermange on a film of Janacek’s Intimate Letters. The members have individually performed at festivals  including Santander, the Roman River Festival, the East Neuk Festival and the Stift International Festival in Holland, and have won prizes including the Britten Intercollegiate Quartet Prize, the RCM Violin Competition and the Ginette Neuveu Competition.

All composers who have delved into the rich complexity  of  the string quartet owe a great deal to ‘Papa’ Haydn, the creator of the string quartet as we recognise it today. He was the first to elevate the form from its origins in melody and continuo, and in Beethoven’s Opus 18 quartets we begin to see equality between the four instruments, a defining feature that distinguishes the string quartet as one of the great genres of Western art music.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.