Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Firebird Orchestra with Jonathan Bloxham (conductor) and Raphael Wallfisch (cello)

JS Bach Air and Gavotte from Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D, BMV1068
Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1 in C
Rossini Une Larme (‘A Tear’) Theme & Variations for cello and strings
Mozart Symphony in C, K.551 Jupiter

In one of our annual concerts expanding the focus from chamber ensemble to chamber orchestra, we welcome the wonderful Firebird Orchestra, comprised of energetic and youthful professional musicians graduating from music college in the last 10 years. In this wide-ranging programme, they are joined by cellist Raphael Wallfisch in Haydn’s famous C Major concerto, and a dazzling theme and variations by Rossini. The concert starts with Bach’s beautiful ‘Air on a G string’ and culminates in Mozart’s great final ‘Jupiter’ symphony from the late 1780s.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 8th February 2015

Pre-Concert Event: Purcell School Wind Group - Sunday 8th February, 5:45pm

Francesca Cox oboe
SILVESTRINI Etude No. 5 for solo oboe

Hannah Condliffe oboe
Calla Randall flute
Rachael Hannigan clarinet
William Gough bassoon
Ruth Dingle horn
HINDEMITH Kleine Kammermusik for wind quintet, Op. 24 No. 2

Lydia Baines flute
Calla Randall flute
Isabelle Sher flute
Abigail Kears flute
SERGE LANCEN Quatres Flûtes en Balade (4th movement)
JOSEPH JONGEN Elégie, Op. 114.3

Wind players from The Purcell School, one of the UK’s leading specialist music schools. The School holds the UNESCO Mozart Gold Medal in recognition of its unique contribution to music, education and international culture. Alumni of the School include Oliver Knussen CBE; Catrin Finch; Nicholas Daniel, the first winner of BBC Young Musician of the Year; Lara Melda, the 2010 winner and Martin James Bartlett, who recently won the title of BBC Young Musician of the Year 2014.

‘… it gives me great hope for the future of the music profession when I hear what these young people are capable of.’ Sir Simon Rattle CBE



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2018.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.