Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Piatti Quartet & Emily Pailthorpe (oboe)

JCWT Mozart Oboe Quartet in F, K370
Claude Debussy Quartet in G minor, Op. 10
Elizabeth Maconchy Quintet for Oboe & Strings
Felix Mendelssohn String Quartet in F minor, Op. 80

Nathaniel Anderson-Frank violin
Michael Trainor violin
Tetsuumi Nagata viola
Jessie Ann Richardson cello
Emily Pailthorpe oboe

Elizabeth Maconchy’s thirteen string quartets represent an unparalleled 20th-century contribution to chamber music for strings.

Following the memorable performance of her fourth quartet in the 2017 LCMS series, this concert illustrates Maconchy’s sensitivity for wind writing too, as Emily Pailthorpe’s solo oboe joins the Piatti Quartet in a rare performance of the Oboe Quintet from 1932.

The taut and dramatic style of the quintet is contrasted with music by Mozart and Debussy, and the concert ends with Mendelssohn’s passionate string quartet in F minor.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 13th October 2019



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.