Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2018-2019 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Raphael Wallfisch (cello) & John York (piano)

Saint-Saëns Sonata for cello & piano No. 1 in C minor, Op. 32
Brahms Sonata for cello & piano in D, Op. 78 (arr. Klengel 1879)
Debussy Sonata for cello & piano
Prokofiev Sonata for cello & piano, Op. 119

The wonderful Wallfisch-York duo presents a varied collection of four of the most beautiful cello sonatas.

We begin with two romantic works from France and Germany: Saint-Saëns’s first sonata from 1872, and Brahms’s famous G major violin sonata, composed at the end of the same decade, and immediately transcribed for cello by Paul Klengel, with the composer’s blessing.

The second half of the concert features two twentieth-century masterworks: Debussy’s magical cello sonata from 1915 and Prokofiev’s late cello sonata, composed for the great virtuoso Rostropovich in 1949.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 18th October 2015

Ellis Pecen, Solo Guitar - FREE! - Sunday 18th October, 5.45pm

Agustin Barrios Mangore La Catedral
Francisco Tárrega Recuerdos de la Alhambra
Isaac Albéniz Asturias from Suite Espanola, Op. 47
Francisco Tárrega Capricho Arabe
Agustin Barrios Mangore Valse No. 4 Opus 8, Un Sueno en la Floresta

Guitarist Ellis Pecen was born in Belgium and moved to London in 2008 to study at the Royal College of Music with Gary Ryan. She has performed in masterclasses with musicians such as Craig Ogden, Chris Stell, Mark Eden, Carlos Bonell and Mark Ashford. After completing her Bachelor of Music in 2012, Ellis studied for an MSc in Performance Science, focusing her research on the impact of cognitive behavioural therapy on musicians.

Ellis is currently conducting doctoral research at the University of Central Lancashire. Her PhD focuses on how performance enhancement practices from the sports domain could be translated successfully for the field of music performance. Ellis’s repertoire consists of traditional and contemporary classical works, and is often influenced by folk music. Reflecting the time spirit of the following evening concert, she will be presenting a selection of works from the late 19th and early 20th century.



The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.