Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Red Priest

Truly, Madly, Deeply

JS Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D, BWV 1050
Vivaldi Concerto in B minor for four violins, RV580
Albinoni Oboe Concerto in D minor, Op. 9 No. 2
Tartini Violin Sonata in G minor The Devil’s Trill
plus works by MariniLocatelli, Forqueray and Sanz

Piers Adams recorders
Adam Summerhayes violin
Angela East cello
David Wright harpsichord

After their recent foray into gypsy music with the Baroque Bohemians project, Red Priest return to their roots with a programme of Baroque classics, arranged and performed with the quartet’s trademark energy, virtuosity and a touch of Baroque-style madness.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 5th May 2019

FREE! Pre-Concert Event: Sarah Small (viola da gamba) & Conor Gricmanis (violin) - Sunday 5th May, 5.45pm

Castello Sonata seconda
Simpson Divisions upon a Ground
Fontana Sonata Terza
Le Sieur de Machy Prelude in D minor
Corelli/Marais La Folia



Baroque violinist Conor Gricmanis and Viola da gamba player Sarah Small began playing together at the start of their Masters degrees at the Royal College of Music in 2018. Since then they have worked together exploring repertoire ranging from Castello and Uccellini to Jacquet de la Guerre and Marais, taking part in masterclasses with Monica Huggett and Florilegium, as well as performing in London. The duo also play together in larger ensemble settings, performing works from the 1600s through to today.

In line with the theme of ‘Truly, Madly, Deeply’, the programme begins in the improvisatory Stylus Phantasticus with virtuosic early Italian pieces by Castello and Fontana alongside Simpson’s Divisions upon a Ground. The final piece is an exciting arrangement combining Marais and Corelli’s sonatas on the theme of ‘La Folia’.




The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2020.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.