Twitter Facebook

Quote MarkWelcome to our 2019-2020 seasonQuote Mark

Back ArrowConcert Details




Sound Collective

Beethoven String Trios & Brahms Piano Quartets (Concert I)

Beethoven String Trio in G, Op. 9 No. 1
John Borstlap String Trio (UK premiere)
Brahms Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25


Sara Trickey violin
Sarah-Jane Bradley viola
Tim Lowe cello
John Lenehan piano
This concert presents the Kings Place debut of the exciting “sound collective” ensemble, featuring well-known chamber musicians from other high-profile groups. They present the first of a mini-series of three concerts celebrating the string trio, a genre arguably even more organic and taut than the string quartet. Each concert pairs one of Beethoven’s remarkable Op. 9 set of trios with a 20th-century example in the medium, and then adds a pianist to present one of the three piano quartets by Brahms. This concert features the first of the Beethoven trios, the 1996 Trio by famous Dutch composer John Borstlap, and Brahms’ ever-popular G minor piano quartet, with its wild Hungarian finale.


Clock6.30pm Sunday, 23rd October 2016

Foyer Performance, FREE - Rousseau Quartet - Sunday 23rd October, 5.45pm

Beethoven Minuet Number One arranged for Wind Quintet
Beethoven Minuet Number Two arranged for Wind Quintet
Brahms How Lovely is thy Dwelling Place arranged for Wind Quartet
Hindemith Kleinne Kammermusik (Selected movements)
Franz Danzi Quintet in A op 68

Rousseau Quartet will reflect the LCMS programme with a selection of Beethoven and Brahms arrangements for wind quintet, and also works for wind quintet written by other German masters.

Kristina Hedley bassoon
Elliot Gresty clarinet
Florence Rousseau French horn
Alenka Bojataj flute
Andre Villalobos oboe


The Rousseau Quintet was formed in 2014 by students at the Royal College of Music. They have since performed at a variety of music festivals including the ‘Autumn in Malvern’ Festival, performances for the Princes Risborough Music Society and a variety of RCM Chamber music series. They also performed for the Calefax Reed Quintet Masterclass in late 2015.





The London Chamber Music Society is located at:

Kings Place,
Music Base,
90 York Way,
N1 9AG

London Chamber Music Society Ltd., company number 9626483.

We are a registered charity no. 1164397.


Copyright © The London Chamber Music Society 2019.

Website designed by The Cycling Web Designer. Handmade with care in London, England.